Some newb questions

Started by BlackCurtain, October 22, 2010, 02:25:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BlackCurtain

Hi! I'm new to Bennu, but have been developing games in other languages for years, mostly in 3d, but now I want to try developing for handhelds like the Pandora. For the last 2 days or so, I've been reading up on the beginners tutorials and the syntax and functions in general, and got 2 questions so far which I didn't find help for in the tutorials.

1. How would I go about making a sprite animation of my player, say for walking etc. ? I guess I would be using strips, but I'm not sure how I would create a animation loop from one.

2. How do I target my player so that he is centered in view and the background view moves along as the player moves? Say, like in a RPG like Zelda.

DCelso

wellcome,
First of all, you have several examples in bennupack for studying all of you sais.
http://bennupack.blogspot.com/

For the firs question, the animation, you need change in some frame the content of "graph" variable, for example an circled animation could be do with the next code:

procedure animation()
private
   int current_index;
   int num_images_of_amination = 5;

begin
    file = load_fpg("my_fpg_file.fpg") ; // you need a fpg file with the five images of the animation, starting in the code 1 and ending in the code 5.
    graph = 1;
   // put the proccess in the position (100,100) of the screen.
   X = 100;
    Y= 100; 
   while(!key(_esc)) // it you press esc key the process break the loop and ends.
      frame; // paint a frame in the screen
      graph=graph+ 1; // advance to the next image
      graph = (graph % (num_images_of_amination+1))+1 ;  // if graph is greater than 6 we put the first image, 1. (because 6 mod 6 is 0 plus 1 is 1, 5 mod 6 is 5 plus 1 is 6, etc)
   end
   unload_fpg(file);
end