*insert catchy greeting*

Started by Jonsul, November 04, 2010, 08:55:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jonsul

Hey, I'm Jonsul. It's Korean for "The legend", I'm not actually korean but I like the language and have been dabbling in learning it for several years. Though lately I've been getting into lojban, which is an amazing language. The reason is because I want to use that for code comments and explanations.

My real name is Isaiah if you like that better. I've been programming for a few years now and am completely self taught. I started with web development and became proficient in Javascript/Ajax and Python. After that I discovered Bennu because I've always been interested in game development and because I had just bought a wiz. I couldn't quite figure it out as I was still pretty much a beginner in general programming, web development helped teach me good concepts but it all doesn't translate well over to other forms of programming.

I decided to learn another language first because there wasn't alot of documentation out yet for bennu and I wanted to become a better programmer. I eventually found Lisp, I've been learning and using that now for almost a year and love the language immensely. I think I can attribute learning lisp as the most important event in my programming career more than anything else, because it forces you to think about your program how a computer scientist would. Even now I think it's probably the most beautiful language in the world and most useful in learning general hardcore programming and techniques. You'll never think the same after learning it right and using it. Especially the macro system, which is such an amazing concept and is so easy to use it's now hard to program in other languages without it lol. If there is any new programmers out there, the language is worth learning even if you'll never use it because the mindf**k is worth it.